Swinging with Glass, Copland & Bernstein
Mon 24 Oct 11:30
Large Hall
Past event
Mon 24 Oct
Past event


Philip Glass Partita nr 2
Aaron Copland Nocturne, Waltz and Celebration
Leonard Bernstein Three Meditations


Zlatomir Fung cello
Matt Haimovitz cello
Frank van de Laar piano

Leonard Bernstein composed MASS in 1971 at the request of Jacqueline Kennedy to commemorate the opening of the Kennedy Center in Washington. He then went on to rearrange this piece for cello and piano – Three Meditations from MASS. A piece Mstislav Rostropovitch regularly performed.

Aaron Copland, who was revered by Bernstein, captured the American landscape and way of life in the 1940s and 50s in his evergreen compositions.

After collaborating with Glass for many years. Matt Haimovitz premiered Philip Glass’s Partita No. 2 for Solo Cello in 2017. This seven-movement piece was in part inspired by Bach’s major solo works that Glass grew up with as a child.

Related musicians

Frank van de Laar


Zlatomir Fung


Matt Haimovitz