Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Nicolas Altstaedt, Alisa Weilerstein
Thu 7 Nov 20:15 - 22:15
Main Hall
Thu 7 Nov
20:15 - 22:15
Add to cart

New cello concertos by Matthias Pintscher and Liza Lim  


Henri Dutilleux Timbres, Espace, Mouvement ou ‘La Nuit étoile’
Liza Lim A Sutured World – Cello Concerto
Matthias Pintscher Un Despertar 
György Ligeti San Francisco Polyphony


Nicolas Altstaedt cello
Alisa Weilerstein cello
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Matthias Pintscher conductor

Matthias Pintscher leads the Concertgebouw Orchestra in his own dark and lyrical cello concerto Un Despertar – an awakening, which he composed in 2017 for Alisa Weilerstein. Liza Lim creates a new concerto, A Sutured World, co-commissioned by the Cello Biënnale for Nicolas Altstaedt. The second movement of Dutilleux’s composition is one big solo for the cello section of the orchestra.