Two young stars play Kabalevsky
Sat 29 Oct 13:00
Large Hall
Sat 29 Oct
Add to cart


Dmitri Kabalevski Suite 'The Comedians', Cello Concerto No 1 in G, Cello Concerto No 2 in C


Anastasia Kobekina cello
Kian Soltani cello
Tianyi Lu conductor

It’s not often that you hear Russian composer Dmitry Kabalevsky’s highly underrated cello concertos, let alone two on the same evening!

His first cello concerto is romantic and whimsical and although he wrote it in 1948 it has a particularly carefree, traditional feel about it.

His second concerto is less conventional in form and character with deeper layers and unexpected twists and turns, yet still in keeping with the dictates of 1964 Soviet Union values.

The Netherlands Symphony Orchestra and the Arnhem Philharmonic Orchestra merged to create one orchestra in 2019. And thus, Phion was born. Phion will be accompanying two young top soloists and demonstrating their musical prowess with Kabalevsky’s orchestral suite The Comedians and in particular its ‘Comedians’ Galop’ – the single most famous piece of music he ever wrote.

Related musicians

Kian Soltani


Tianyi Lu


Anastasia Kobekina



Plays in