The Next Generation

The Kronberg Academy’s cello elite
Thu 27 Oct 11:30
Large Hall
Past event
Thu 27 Oct
Past event


Maurice Ravel Sonate for violin and piano (arr Maciek Kulakowski)
Benjamin Britten Suite nr 1 for cello solo
Dmitri Sjostakovitsj Sonate for cello en piano


Julia Hagen cello 
Maciek Kulakowski cello
Brannon Cho cello
Finghin Collins piano

These three young cellists are theoretically still students at the Kronberg Academy but are in practice already fully fledged soloists with international careers.

Maciej Kułakowski rearranged Ravel’s Violin Sonata himself incorporating subtle blues into its second movement, very much in the spirit of the 2020 Cello Biennale’s theme ‘The Cello Takes Over’.

The three suites Benjamin Britten composed for solo cello are the pinnacle of the cello’s 20th-century repertoire. Brannon Cho’s been filling concert halls around the world since he won first prize at the 2018 International Paolo Cello Competition – often performing Britten’s Cello Suite No. 1.

Shostakovich understood, as did Britten, how to compose highly characteristic and innovative, yet familiar music that wasn’t too intricate or complicated to listen to. Julia Hagen will be playing his cello sonata that dates to 1940 – a less tragic sounding work than many of his later compositions.

Related musicians

Julia Hamos


Brannon Cho


Julia Hagen


Maciek Kulakowski