CvA Symphony Orchestra

New stars in the heavens
Sun 23 Oct 15:00
Large Hall
Sun 23 Oct
Past event


Henriëtte Bosmans Poème
Kate Moore Frieda’s Reis [‘Frieda’s Journey’] 
Pjotr Iljitsj Tchaikovsky Pas de Deux from 'Nutcracker',
Pjotr Iljitsj Tchaikovsky Rococo Variations


Benjamin Kruithof cello
Ashley Bathgate cello  
Zlatomir Fung cello
CvA Symphony Orchestra
Sander Teepen conductor

The winner of the 2019 International Tchaikovsky Competition in St Petersburg was the then 19-year-old Zlatomir Fung who performed Tchaikovsky’s Variations on a Rococo Theme in the final. He’ll be playing this same piece at this year's Cello Biennale, accompanied by young musicians from the Conservatorium van Amsterdam.

Benjamin Kruithof was the magnificent winner of the 2020 National Cello Competition. A final round accompanied by a symphony orchestra wasn’t possible during the pandemic, which is why we’re so happy to welcome him back this year to perform Henriëtte Bosmans’ Poème.

Kate Moore’s latest cello concerto Frieda’s Reis [‘Frieda’s Journey’] is a tribute to Frieda Belinfante – cellist, conductor and key figure in the Dutch resistance during World War II. After the war, Belinfante emigrated to Los Angeles where she once again became a leading light in the cultural world. American cellist Ashley Bathgate previously worked with Kate Moore and now plays the world premiere of Frieda's Journey in the Netherlands.