The most exciting part of the Cello Biënnale is nearing its end. On Tuesday 27 October the last five candidates of the combined First and Second Round played different works from various periods: from a sonata from Boccherini till ‘It sings, it whispes’ the commissioned piece composed by our composer-in-residence, Martijn Padding . The following four(!) talents will play on Friday evening at 20.00h in the Finals:

Pedro Silva
Tom Feltgen
Melle de Vries
Benjamin Kruithof

The jury of the eighth National Cello Competition consists of Monique Bartels (cello), Liza Ferschtman (violin), Quirine Viersen (cello), Reinhard Latzko (cello, from Graz), Jan-Ype Nota (cello), Ed Spanjaard (conductor), and jury chairman Sven Arne Tepl (director Residentie Orkest). Patty Hamel is secretary. The jury will be judging not only the winners of the first, second and third prizes, but also the winners of the incentive prize, and the best interpretation of the commissioned piece.

More information and livestream: